KirghizIstan

BETWEEN TWO WORLDS

Photo essay
Travel diary

betweens two worlds

Once a crossroads on the Silk Road inhabited by nomadic tribes, then a country under Soviet political and cultural influences, today Kyrgyzstan is a young nation torn between opening up to a globalised world and a desire to defend its way of life. Intimately linked to the steppe, the Kyrgyz people are seeking balance. Among them, twenty falconers try to carry on the tradition of hunting on the wing, an art that took root on the high plains of this region of Central Asia.

Our journey took us to meet Arstan and his family who live in the isolated village of Bokonbayevo, perched on the edge of Lake Issyk Kul in the east of the country. In Kyrgyz, they are called Bürkütchü: "golden eagle tamers". 
Against the backdrop of an exceptional panorama, we watched a golden eagle taming session. Used for a long time by nomadic tribes to protect wolf packs and hunt, falconry is considered a noble sport in Kyrgyzstan and is handed down from father to son. Taming a raptor takes several years and requires faultless dedication from the tamer to build a trusting relationship with their bird.

We also followed Arstan in his everyday life as a child of the village and captured moments in the life of a people seeking balance, wavering between modernity and tradition.

EXPLORE FURTHER

1/0

KirghizIstan

ENTRE DEUX MONDES

Photo reportage

Carnet de voyage

ENTRE DEUX MONDES

Autrefois carrefour sur la route de la soie, habité de tribus nomades, puis territoire placé sous influence politique et culturelle soviétique, le Kirghizistan est aujourd’hui une jeune nation tiraillée entre l’ouverture sur un monde qui se globalise et l’envie de défendre son mode de vie. Intimement lié à la steppe, le peuple kirghize cherche son équilibre. Parmi eux, une vingtaine de fauconniers tente de perpétuer la chasse au vol, un art qui prend racines sur les hauts plateaux de cette région d’Asie Centrale. 

Notre voyage nous a menés à la rencontre d’Arstan et sa famille, vivant dans le village isolé de Bokonbayevo, niché sur les pourtours du lac Issyk Kul, à l’est du pays. En Kirghiz, on les appelle des Bürkütchü : “les dresseurs d'aigles dorés”. 

Au cœur d’un panorama exceptionnel, nous avons assisté à une séance de dressage d’un aigle royal. Utilisée pendant longtemps par les tribus nomades pour protéger les troupeaux du loup et pour chasser, la fauconnerie est considérée comme une pratique noble au Kirghizistan et se transmet de père en fils. Le dressage d’un rapace prend plusieurs années et demande un dévouement sans faille de la part du dresseur afin de construire une relation de confiance avec son oiseau.

Nous avons également suivi Arstan dans son quotidien d’enfant du village et capturé les instants de vie d’un peuple qui cherche son équilibre, oscillant entre modernité et traditions.

EXPLORER DAVANTAGE

1/1
1/1

Agence Créative BANANA - Copyright 2021