OLA CUBA

END OF AN ERA

Photo report

Travel diary

OLA CUBA

This travel story named 'FIN DE SIGLO', end of the century in Spanish, shines a spotlight on the everyday life of Cubans, a people in the midst of change, who, after decades of being closed off, have entered a new era.

Cuba produces the best cigars in the world, such as Montecristo, Partagas, Cohiba and Romeo y Julieta. Although the clichés of inhabitants holding cigars seem to belong to scenes from fiction, they do actually reflect the reality of a folklore that is firmly established in the locals' everyday life. We chose to explore the country by going out to meet its inhabitants, staying with them to get immersed in their realities. 

When we visited the island in 2016, Cubans had had Internet access for less than a year, and only in the main cities. New technologies had not yet weakened the connections between individuals, but how long will this last? 

EXPLORE FURTHER

1/1

OLA CUBA

FIN D'UNE ÉPOQUE

Photo reportage

Carnet de voyage

OLA CUBA

Ce récit de voyage, baptisé Fin del Siglo, fin du siècle en français, met en lumière le quotidien des Cubains, un peuple en pleine mutation qui, après des décennies de fermeture, a entamé une nouvelle ère.

Cuba produit les meilleurs cigares du monde, notamment les Montecristo, Partagas, Cohiba et Romeo y Julieta. Aussi, si les clichés d’habitants, cigare à la main, paraissent appartenir à de la fiction, ils reflètent la réalité d’un folklore solidement ancré dans le quotidien des locaux. Nous avons choisi d’explorer le pays en allant à la rencontre de ses habitants, en logeant chez eux pour nous fondre dans la réalité de leurs décors.

Lors de notre passage sur l'île en 2016, cela faisait moins d'un an que les Cubains avaient accès à Internet et seulement dans les villes principales. Ainsi, les nouvelles technologies n’avaient pas encore fragilisé les liens entre les individus, mais pour combien de temps encore ?

EXPLORER DAVANTAGE

1/1
1/1

Agence Créative BANANA - Copyright 2021